Zello has a new look. Last month, we released a paid version of Zello for the iPhone called Zello+. We've also updated both versions with a new design and new features. Zello uses a left navigation menu instead of the tabs on the bottom of the screen. This helps you quickly get from one screen to another.
What's that eye staring at me on the talk screen?
See the "eye" on the talk screen in the below screen shot? Think of the new talk screen as having a front and a back. Use the front of the talk screen for talking and the back for the details. Press the "eye" to flip to the back of the talk screen and "see" the details. On the back of the talk screen, you'll find the History and Profile. For channels, you'll also see the current list of active users.
What's new in Zello
You have three choices for channel channel types: "Anyone can talk," "Listen only" and "Zelect," the all-new type.
When you set your channel to Zelect, new users can only listen to others and talk to moderators. Once the owner or a moderator of the channel identifies you as a trusted member, you can talk and be heard by everyone. If you are new to a Zelect channel, you'll see the moderator's Zello name and a light yellow background when he or she speaks to you. Be nice and ask for permission to join the channel.
If you're the owner or moderator of a Zelect channel, you have some new tools to manage the channel. Tap the arrow to access the moderator tools. You can talk to all the moderators, mute all of the untrusted users, talk to a single moderator or talk to a single untrusted user. When selecting a single user, you can: trust, block, make the user a moderator or return to talking to all users. (Only the channel owner can promote someone to moderator.)
Sometimes users can be too loud or not loud enough that you need to adjust their volume. You now have two ways to do this: on the user's profile screen, move the slider to adjust the volume, or on the talk screen, slide your finger up and down just to the right of the talk button to adjust the volume for the user currently talking. The title will display the current setting and a small arrow will rotate along the edge of the talk button. Zello will remember the volume setting for each user.
History for alerts
Alerts are now saved to history. You can see alerts in your History feed along with voice messages. To delete, tap the Trash button at the bottom, select the entries to delete and tap "Delete."
Share a channel
Share a channel with your friends using Facebook, Twitter, e-mail or a text message. Select the profile for the channel, then Share icon to the right of the camera icon.
When someone sends you a contact request or channel invitation you will see a blue notification in the status bar. If you tap the notification, Zello will take you to the user or channel profile so you can approve or block the request right away. In the below screen shot, Green Kitty sent a contact request. Tap the notification to view the profile screen for Green Kitty.
When someone is talking, Zello displays a black notification with the user's name. If you tap that, Zello takes you to the talk screen for that user or channel. The below screen shows a notification that Green Kitty is talking. Tap that and Zello switches to the talk screen for Green Kitty.
Manage blocked users and channels
When someone sends you a contact request or a channel invitation, you can block or flag the request. If you change your mind later, you can now remove those blocked requests. Press the Gear icon next to your Zello username to acces your profile. Icons will appear on the bottom of the Profile Tool menu if you have blocked channels or contacts. Tap the Blocked Channel or Blocked Contacts icon to manage the blocked requests.
Whats new in Zello+
If you throw 99 pennies at us for Zello+, you get all the new features in Zello plus you can customize Zello alerts.
Select an alert sound from our Zello site ...
Or choose a song from your Music library and use part of it as an alert.
Happy Zello ... ing